2020 Chrysalis Award

The Chrysalis Award is a peer recognition program that highlights AIA Connecticut member firms that are gaining recognition in the general design community through a body of built work and continuing commitment to design excellence. This award is about the coherent growth of the firm, and the submission should illustrate where the firm is coming from and where it is going. It is not a design award program. Evaluation in Chrysalis Award is based on a group of projects, not on the merits of a single project.

The nominated firm must be an AIA Connecticut architectural firm located in Connecticut. The firm must have been in practice no less than 2 years and no more than 15 years. Previous winners of the Chrysalis Awards are not eligible. If a firm is an outgrowth of another architectural firm, only work produced by the present entity shall be considered. Any questions about eligibility may be directed to AIA Connecticut.

A firm may nominate itself or be nominated by other AIA members. Firms may be nominated more than one time if they have never received the Chrysalis Award.

Submission Requirements:
– A single PDF document with an essay of no more than 300 words including a firm description, goals, and size.
– Graphics materials of completed projects in JPEG format (drawings or photographs, single or combined). Maximum of ten (10), minimum of three (3).

The following panel made up of the AIA Connecticut Design Committee and the current AIA Connecticut president shall review materials and make selections. Winners will be showcased on the AIA Connecticut web site and will be recognized at the Annual Awards Reception.

Nomination Deadline: July 17, 2020


(formerly Emerging Architectural Firm Award)

2019 2017 2016 2015 2013
2011 2009 2007 2005