Allied Member Award

This award launched in 2018 is to recognize Allied Member (s) who are not an architects, but by their interest, participation and concern have promoted and contributed significantly to the profession of architecture through their membership and participation in the Connecticut Chapter of the American Institute of Architects.


Nomination Deadline: October 18, 2019

Any AIA member, group of members, or committee may nominate one Allied member for this award. Self-nomination is also accepted. Nominees must be AIA Allied members for at least 3 years in good standing.  For a list of AIA Connecticut Allied Members – please click here.

Candidates will be evaluated on how well they meet the program criteria as established by AIA Connecticut which may include:

  • The candidate shall be widely recognized for the quality of his or her work and services by those who practice architecture and by members of the design and architecture community.

Additional Considerations:
Throughout the submission, where applicable and to the extent possible, you are encouraged to highlight aspects of work or experiences that may reflect contributions of special interest to AIA Connecticut, to the Institute, its members and the architecture profession. These might include such areas as diversity, sustainability, or the mentoring of emerging professionals.

Submission Instructions:
All submissions must be submitted electronically, in a PDF file, through OpenWater, the submission portal utilized by AIA Connecticut.  Each submission shall contain the following:

  • A one-page nomination letter that summarizes the contributions made and addresses the criteria for the award.
  • A brief biography of the Candidate, a list of the Candidate’s achievements and examples of the Candidate’s contributions to AIA Connecticut that may include, clippings, articles, etc. (not to exceed 3 pages.)


2018 Winners

Presented last year at the 2018 Awards Gala

Mark Weiner, Sherwin Williams

Jim Beatrice, Eversource