Monday, October 2, 2023

Connecticut Architecture Foundation Scholarship

The Connecticut Architecture Foundation (CAF) was established by the Connecticut Chapter of The American Institute of Architects in 1978. This organization’s mission is to raise the public awareness of, and expectations for, Architecture and the built environment. We accomplish these goals through the funding of programs in education, scholarship, mentorship and research. Our administration of the Foundation’s Scholarship Program is an important part of that work.

CAF Scholarship Recipients              Press Release
2019 Recipients: 
Suzanne Sheng Memorial Scholarship:

Alison Notation
Rensselar Polytechnic Institute Bachelor of Architecture Program




Charles DuBose Memorial Scholarship:

Louis Koushouris
Yale School of Architecture



CAF and AIA Scholarship:

Xiaohui Wen
Yale School of Architecture




CAF Scholarships:

Gabrielle Bernier
Clemson University




Araceli Lopez,
Yale School of Architecture




Alix Pauchet,
Yale School of Architecture





Gioia Connell,
Yale School of Architecture





David Scurry,
Yale School of Architecture



CAF scholarship past recipients


In order to be considered for a Foundation Scholarship a candidate must complete by June 30, 2019 two years in a NAAB accredited Architectural Program leading to a B-ARCH degree.
A student who is currently enrolled in non-accredited undergraduate program but has been accepted to a NAAB accredited Masters Program (M-ARCH) is also eligible for consideration.
All students in NAAB accredited Masters Programs are eligible. Only full time students will be considered.

Charles DuBose Memorial  Scholarship

Students who have completed two years in accredited undergraduate architectural programs or have been accepted into an accredited graduate program are eligible to apply for this scholarship. Connecticut residents are encouraged to apply. Preference will be given to students at the University of Pennsylvania, Georgia Institute of Technology, and the Fontainebleau summer program.

The Charles DuBose Scholarship Fund was established in 1986 by DuBose Associates, Inc. of Hartford, Connecticut in memory of Charles DuBose, FAIA. Ruth DuBose, Widow of Mr. Charles DuBose, has contributed substantially to the scholarship fund. Charles DuBose, Founder and Chairman of DuBose Associates, Inc. Architects, was most noted for his design of Constitution Plaza in Hartford. It was acclaimed in the 1960’s as one of the first urban developments to effectively separate pedestrian movement from vehicular traffic with a series of raised landscaped terraces.

Suzanne Sheng Memorial Scholarship

In 1997, the Sheng family established a memorial scholarship fund in memory of Suzanne Sheng who was a Connecticut architect working with James Lawler, FAIA at the time of her death. The first scholarship award from the fund was in 2002. The fund is be used solely for scholarships for students of architecture, giving preference to students in architectural degree programs at Cornell University. While students who are Connecticut residents are encouraged to apply, the fund is open to any student who has completed two years of study in an accredited undergraduate architectural program or who has been accepted into an accredited graduate architectural program..

Scholarship awards have previously ranged between $1,200 and $5,000.

To apply for one of these scholarships, the following is required:

  • 2019 Application
  • A one-page letter describing your accomplishments and goals.
  • A one-to-two page resume of education, experience, honors, activities.
  • A completed Financial Aid form, signed and completed by the Financial Aid institution attending. Your school’s Financial Aid Officer must complete the relevant sections and sign the form.
  • Two faculty letters of reference on college or university stationary sealed in envelopes. References from employers or others will not be accepted.
  • Submit one exemplary project including description of project, drawings/media depicting project and an explanation of the rationale for your design. Materials will not be returned. (By submitting this application, you grant permission to The Connecticut Architecture Foundation  to reproduce any or all of your materials for the promotion of its programs.)

In addition, please note:

  • Applications must include current email address, contact information and telephone number.
  • If confirmation of acceptance of award is not received in writing within 30 days of award notification, the award offering will be revoked.
  • If application is incomplete or does not comply with stated requirements, application will be disqualified.

Mail required correspondence to Connecticut Architecture Foundation c/o AIA Connecticut, 370 James Street, Suite 402, New Haven, CT 06513.