Tuesday, November 28, 2023

PR: The Connecticut American Institute of Architects Announces the 2022 Board of Directors

For Immediate Release

(New Haven, CT, December 13, 2021) The Connecticut Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA Connecticut) announces the appointment of three new members of its Board of Directors, as well as the elected Officers for 2022.

The 2020 Officers elected for a one-year term:

Randall Anway, AIA, LEED AP, New Tapestry, LLC, Old Lyme, President

Randall Anway specializes in interdisciplinary architectural design research inspired by natural patterns and systems.  His work draws on diverse experience in academic, industrial, non-profit, and small business settings involved with design and programmatic processes.  Through a collaborative approach and consultancy, New Tapestry, LLC, he offers innovative research concerning sustainable architectural strategies in the built environment.


Paolo Campos, AIA, NOMA, Patriquin Architects New Haven, 2023 President Elect

Paolo is an Associate Principal with Patriquin Architects in New Haven, CT, where he actively manages project design and documentation, technology integration, and business development. His professional career has spanned nearly twenty years, with broad experience in primary and higher education, multifamily housing, master planning, and commercial work. He is a founding member and current President of NOMAct, CT's new state chapter of the National Organization of Minority Architects.


Susan Wyeth, AIA, NOMA, Centerbrook Architects and Planners, Centerbrook, Treasurer

A professor of a course in 3D design encouraged Sue to apply to the Rhode Island School of Design, and a tour of the campus convinced her design was her path. She went on to earn fine arts and architecture degrees from RISD, finishing the five-year program in three. After working for a Cambridge architect, she joined Centerbrook in 1983 and has amassed a substantial portfolio on design teams for academic clients,  she was named senior director in 2014.  Sue is one of charter members of NOMAct, CT's new state chapter of the National Organization of Minority Architects.


Marc Andre, AIA, Marc G. Andre Architects, Fairfield, Secretary

Marc is committed to exploring aesthetic aspects of architecture and effectively solving various challenges of the built environment, while exceeding our clients' expectations.  Marc holds a Bachelor of Architecture from City College School of Architecture and Environmental Studies, New York City, New York in 1999.


Joining the Board of Directors for a three-year term are Julia Su Jack, AIA NCARB, PMI, City of Hartford,  and Jeremy Jamilkowski, Svigals + Partners, New Haven.  Michael Ayles, FAIA, Antinozzi Associates was elected to an additional 3-year term.. Ersa Llakmani, Assoc. AIA, Schuco USA, will serve a one-year term as Associate Director.

Julia Su. Jack has worked in architecture, interior design, pre-construction management, non-profit construction employment management, project controls in the transportation sector, and more, finally landing as an Architect for Connecticut’s Capital City. Julia created the F50Woman movement; a movement created to Bring Together a Diverse Community of Women; to Build Unshakable Character and Achieve Extraordinary Things. She holds a Bachelor of Architecture degree from Howard University and a Masters’ in Construction Management from Central Connecticut State University. She  is a Certified PMI Project Management Professional and a CSI Construction Document Technologist.


Jeremy is an architect with Svigals + Partners and has recently been named an associate and design leader within the firm. He received his Bachelor of Architecture degree from Roger Williams University where his studies focused on design and sculpture. He has also served as a mentor and team leader with the ACE Mentor program where he led his students to multiple placements in the CIRT/ACE national design competition, and was previously named as the ACE Connecticut Mentor of the year.


Ersa is a Project Manager/Architectural Advisor at Schuco USA, where she also serves as Chair of Diversity and Inclusion. She graduated from University of Harford with a B.S in Architectural Engineering Technology and a dual Masters’ in Architecture and Business Administration. Ersa has actively been involved with organizations such as Habitat for Humanity, Engineers without Borders, ACE Mentorship, and more recently the Connecticut chapter of the National Organization of Minority Architects.


Andrew Gorzkowski, AIA Pickard Chilton, New Haven,  Thomas Haskell, AIA, UCONN, Storrs, Jennifer Huestis, AIA Huestis Tucker Architects, LLC, Woodbridge, Ming Thompson, AIA, Atelier Cho Thompson, , New Haven, and Michael Tyre, AIA, Amenta Emma Architects, will continue to fulfill their terms as Directors of the Board.  Angela Cahill, AIA of QA+M Architecture, Farmington remains on the board as Past President.

About AIA Connecticut:

AIA Connecticut, a statewide chapter of the American Institute of Architects, serves the architectural profession, encourages design excellence, and works to improve society through a concern for the quality of the built and natural environments. Members commit themselves to the highest standards of practice and code of ethics that addresses responsibilities to the public, clients, the building industry, and the art and science of architecture.

AIA Connecticut serves as a resource to architects and the public. Its membership of over 1,500 is comprised of architects, associates working towards licensure, students, and professionals in affiliated fields.

For more information, visit AIA Connecticut’s website at www.aiact.org