Tuesday, November 28, 2023

The Connecticut Chapter of the American Institute of Architects Announces the 2023 New England Architecture & Friendly Firm Awards

(New Haven, CT; November 15, 2023) Each year one of the New England Chapters of the American Institute of Architects hosts the annual New England Architecture Awards (formerly the AIA New England Design Awards), recognizing the diverse architecture of New England architects and architecture.  In 2018, the AIA New England region introduced the New England Emerging Professional Friendly Firm Awards. This awards program aims to identify firm initiatives that promote the advancement of young professionals through development and personal growth opportunities.

The Connecticut Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA Connecticut) had the honor of hosting a dinner for this year’s awards as part of their annual Connecticut Architecture Conference + Expo. The celebration was held on October 26th at Mystic Marriott in Groton, CT. The awards dinner Keynote Speaker was Evelyn Lee, FAIA, recently elected as the 2025 President of the American Institute of Architects.

“These awards celebrate the spirit of ingenuity within New England's diverse architecture,” said Gina Calabro, Executive Director and CEO, AIA Connecticut. “The New England Architecture Awards and the Emerging Professional Friendly Firm Awards embody our commitment to fostering a culture that nurtures the growth and advancement of young professionals, ensuring a vibrant future for the architectural landscape."

2023 New England Architecture Awards

Submissions were juried by Jacob Davis, AIA, LEED AP (archimania, Memphis, TN); Melanie Hennigan, AIA, LEED (Grimm + Parker Architects, Beltsville, MD); and Mark McInturff, FAIA (McInturff Architects, Bethesda, MA).

After reviewing and critiquing the entries, the jury selected the following 27 outstanding projects for recognition at the gala.

Educational Category
American International School of Zagreb | Flansburgh Architects, Boston MA
Chengdu Museum of Natural History | Pelli Clarke & Partners, New Haven CT
Lehigh University Singleton, Hitch, and Maida Residential Houses | Sasaki, Boston MA
Quinnipiac University Health and Wellness Center | designLAB architects, Bostob MA
Tecnológico de Monterrey, Querétaro Campus Residence Hall | Perkins&Will, Boston MA
Unity Hall | Gensler, Boston MA

Charles River School | Middle School | Flansburgh Architects, Boston MA
Gruss Center for Art and Design | Sasaki, Boston MA
Harvard Divinity School, Shwartz Hall | Annum Architects, Boston MA
Pan Athletic Center | DiMella Shaffer, Boston MA

Institutional/Commercial Category
Boston College 245 Beacon Street | Payette, Boston MA
Harvard University District Energy Facility | Leers Weinzapfel Associates, Boston MA
Universidad de Lima Recreation, Wellness, and Student Life Center | Sasaki, Boston MA

Health | Science | Technology Building | HGA Architects and Engineers, Boston MA
Montana State University, Lambert Field Improvements | Perkins&Will, Boston MA
Rosebrook Lodge at Bretton Woods Ski Resort | Bull Stockwell Allen, San Francisco CA
Texas Tower | Pelli Clarke & Partners, New Haven CT
VA Worcester Community-Based Outpatient Clinic | SmithGroup, Boston MA

Renovation/Reuse Category
Brim and Crown | Beinfield Architecture PC, Norwalk CT

District New Haven | Kenneth Boroson Architects, New Haven CT
L.L.Bean Corporate Headquarters | SMRT INC, Portland ME

Residential Category
Slice House | Joeb Moore & Partners, Greenwich CT

CLT Mountain Retreat | OPAL, Belfast ME
House on a Bay | Elliott Architects, Blue Hill ME

Small Project/Small Firm Category
Pool House | Saniee Architects LLC, Greenwich CT

Unbuilt Category
Anthony Timberlands Center for Design and Materials Innovation | Gray Organschi Architecture, New Haven CT

Other Category
Land’s Sake Barn | Payette, Boston MA

Also recognized at the gala were three projects that demonstrated excellence within the New England States.

Best of Connecticut: Chengdu Museum of Natural History | Pelli Clarke & Partners, New Haven CT
Best of Massachusetts: American International School of Zagreb | Flansburgh Architects, Boston MA
Best of Maine: L.L.Bean Corporate Headquarters | SMRT INC, Portland ME

2023 New England Friendly Firm Awards

The following 33 firms from the New England region were designated as 2023 Friendly Firms.

AIA Connecticut
Amenta Emma Architects
Antinozzi Associates
Centerbrook Architects & Planners
Hoffmann Architects + Engineers
JCJ Architecture
Newman Architects
Patriquin Architects
Pickard Chilton
Point One Architects
Svigals + Partners
The S/L/A/M Collaborative

AIA Maine
Colby Company Engineering
Whitten Architects

AIA New Hampshire
Lavallee Brensinger Architects

AIA Rhode Island
Brewster Thornton Group Architects, LLP
DBVW Architects, Inc.
Union Studio Architecture & Community Design

AIA Vermont
E4H Environments for Health Architecture

AIA Western Massachusetts
Berkshire Design, Inc.
Bradley Architects, Inc.
Dietz & Company Architects
Kuhn Riddle Architects

Boston Society of Architects
Annum Architects (formerly Ann Beha Architects)
Bruner/Cott Architects
Fennick McCredie Architecture
HMFH Architects, Inc.
Rosemont Design LLC
Studio G Architects

Additional information and images are available at https://aianewengland.org/

AIA Maine is the host of the 2024 New England Architecture Awards.

About AIA Connecticut:

AIA Connecticut, a statewide chapter of the American Institute of Architects, serves the architectural profession, encourages design excellence, and works to improve society through a concern for the quality of the built and natural environments. Members commit themselves to the highest standards of practice and code of ethics that addresses responsibilities to the public, clients, the building industry, and the art and science of architecture.

AIA Connecticut serves as a resource to architects and the public. Its membership of over 1,500 is comprised of architects, associates working towards licensure, students, and professionals in affiliated fields.

For more information, visit AIA Connecticut’s website at www.aiact.org