Close this search box.

President's Award

Member volunteers are and always will be AIA Connecticut’s greatest asset. Instituted in 2018, the President’s Award recognizes an AIA Connecticut architect member who has made outstanding contributions to our organization through participation, service, and promotion of AIA CT’s mission and vision. 

2023 Awardee

Jose Hernandez, AIA, NOMA

Newman Architects

At our best, architects are orchestrators of positive change in the world. Our work can make people’s lives better both directly in our built projects, and indirectly in how it can connect, empower and inspire. I am thrilled to honor Jose Hernandez with the 2023 AIA CT President’s Award for his exemplary achievements in both of these categories.

Those who are lucky to work with Jose know what a generous, thoughtful and deliberate professional he has been in his nearly twenty five years with Newman Architects. He has built success through collaboration, allyship, and mentorship for clients, partners and the next generation of architects.

Jose’s legacy to our organization is one of courage and tenacity- forged by his asking “why” and then doing something about it. In starting NOMA’s Connecticut chapter, Jose helped create a place for our diverse members to connect, support and elevate each other, and in his spirit of leadership, to stand up and serve our AEC community and the public at large.

Paolo Campos, AIA, NOMA
2023 AIA Connecticut President

  • 2022

    Melissa Kops, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, LFA

    Nominated by Randall Anway, AIA, 2022 AIA CT President


    Sara Bronin, AIA

    Nominated by Angela Cahill, AIA, 2021 AIA CT President


    Alan Lagocki, AIA

    Nominated by George McGoldrick, AIA, 2020 AIA CT President


    Jay Brotman, AIA

    Nominated by Glenn Gollenberg, AIA, 2019 AIA CT President


    George Fellner, AIA

    Nominated by Arthur Sanders, AIA, 2018 AIA CT President