Close this search box.

Alice Washburn Awards

The Alice Washburn Awards are named for the distinguished, self-taught Connecticut designer and builder of the 1920’s, whose work is known for her thoughtful, stylistic, and programmatic invention.

Focusing on style, this program acknowledges excellence in traditional house design through the thoughtful adaptation of tradition to address 21st-century needs. 
Award categories: (1) New Construction; (2) Additions, Adaptive Re-use, Renovations and Restorations; and (3) Accessory Buildings

2024 Registration Opens: February 5
Registration Deadline: February 23
Submission Deadline: March 29

2024 Jurors

Luke Golesh, AIA
Golesh Architecture
Seattle, WA

Anne G. Mooney, FAIA
Sparano + Mooney Architecture
Salt Lake City, Utah

Warren Fisher, AIA
Peter Zimmerman Architects, Inc.
Berwyn, PA

  • Projects must have been completed in the last 5 years.
  • Projects are to be located in Connecticut and designed in a style broadly considered as “traditional”.
  • Submitting architect must be the Architect of Record practicing in Connecticut and credit any other contributing architectural firm.
  • Eligible works include one- or two-family residences, free standing projects, additions, renovations, restorations, adaptive reuse, and accessory buildings including but not limited to:
    • Studios
    • Pool houses
    • Barns
    • Playhouses
    • Pet Shelters
    • Conservatories
  • Styles may include but are not limited to:
    • Shingle style
    • Georgian
    • Queen Anne
    • Gothic
    • Colonial
    • Greek revival

The submission form will require the following items:

  • Project name and location
  • 250-word project description that includes:
    • Square footage, site information, and context
    • Brief synopsis of the project and design rationale
    • Identification of structures that may have more than one purpose or may have addressed unique challenges
    • Sustainability features, if any
  • Maximum of 12, minimum of 8 high resolution photos following these guidelines:
    • Maximum of 10MB per photo
    • Minimum of 3 interior photos (accessory buildings only require one interior photo)
    • Exterior photos with at least 1 that includes site context
    • Maximum of 2 “before” photos, if desired
    • Photos should indicate that the house is furnished (permission to show these should be cleared by the Owner prior to submission)
    • All photos must be properly oriented as jurors will not be able to rotate them
    • Do not include firm identification in the file names or photos
    • All photography permissions and releases are the responsibility of the submitting architect
  • Photographer’s name/photo release
  • List of project team members with names and email


Do not include any identifying firm information in any part of your submission. This includes file names because they are visible to jurors. Submissions with identifying information will automatically be disqualified.

Jurors will take into consideration and acknowledge:

  • Excellence in traditional house design and attention to detail
  • Thoughtful adaptation of traditional style(s) to address 21st-century needs
  • Sustainability features
  • AIA Connecticut member: $100.00
  • Member of another AIA component: $200.00
  • Non-Member Registered Architect: $400.00