Close this search box.

Women in Architecture Awards

The Women in Architecture Awards recognize licensed women architects within AIA Connecticut who showcase exceptional design skills, advocate for fair and sustainable practices, and positively impact the industry.

Nominees may submit their own applications or be nominated by their firm.

2024 Nominations Open: International Women’s Day, March 8
Nomination Deadline: April 19

2024 Awardee

Elizabeth Hedde, AIA

Principal, Centerbrook Architects

Elizabeth embarked on her architectural journey at the University of Virginia for her undergraduate studies before pursuing a master’s degree at Yale University.

In just twelve years, Beth ascended to the role of Principal at Centerbrook Architects, a renowned design firm honored with the AIA Firm Award. Beth’s talent is reflected in the numerous accolades her projects have garnered, totaling over 30 design awards.

Beth’s impact extends beyond architectural innovation; she is a beacon of empowerment and advocacy within the industry. She dedicates herself to nurturing talent and fostering inclusivity, particularly for young women underrepresented in architecture. Beth’s leadership at Centerbrook is characterized by mentorship, motivation, and advocacy, resulting in a significant increase in female representation within the firm.

2024 Jurors

Indigenous Design Studio + Architecture, LLC
Albuquerque, NM

Deborah Berke,
Dean, Yale University School of Architecture
Founding Principal & Owner, TenBerke, New York City, NY

Jenny French
Assistant Professor, Harvard University Graduate School of Design
Co-founder, French 2D
Boston, MA

Nominee must be a member of AIA Connecticut and meet the following criteria:

    • Design Excellence: A body of work that conveys contributions to the design community and built environment through the design of built or unbuilt work, writing, teaching, or publication
    • Exhibits a collaborative and participatory approach to working with others
    • Promotes Equitable Practice: Demonstrated intent and ability to promote equitable practice through their work and values.
    • Promotes sustainable practices, demonstrated by their body of work
    • Affects Change: Exhibits a forward-thinking and progressive approach with a goal to create positive change in the profession, built environment, or wider community

The submission form will require a single multi-page PDF (max 25MB) with the following items:

  • Description of the nominee
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • 100-word biography of the nominee
  • 100-250 word narrative that describes how the nominee meets the five awards criteria listed in the “Eligibility” section
  • Supporting materials for five (5) relevant projects, articles, and/or publications
    • 100-250 word description of the project, including description of nominee’s role
    • List of project collaborators
    • 5 photos of each project
    • PDF of articles and publications (if applicable)
  • Description of action toward a Sustainable Practice
  • One letter of recommendation
  • Contact information for support material, such as a marketing department or nominee’s address, phone number, and email address


Nominations will also require a headshot of the nominee.

If the nominee is recognized with an award, individual high resolution project photos in JPEG, JPG, or PNG format will be required from the submitter.

AIA Connecticut member: $100.00

  • 2023

    Amanda Martocchio, AIA

    Founder and Principal, Amanda Martocchio Architecture


    Ming Thompson, AIA

    Founder and Principal, Atelier Cho Thompson


    Nancy Clayton, AIA

    Pickard Chilton


    Marissa Mead, AIA

    Svigals + Partners


    Katelyn Chapin, AIA

    Newman Architects


    Karen Patriquin, AIA

    Patriquin Architects