Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Alice Washburn Awards


The Alice Washburn Award is named for the distinguished Connecticut designer and builder of the 1920’s, largely self-taught, whose work is known for her thoughtful stylistic and programmatic invention.  Focusing on style: the program acknowledges excellence in traditional house design through the thoughtful adaptation of tradition to address 21st-century needs. Works are to be located in Connecticut and designed in a style broadly considered as “traditional”.

2023 Alice Washburn Jury

Rick Nelson, AIA
Architecture Practice Leader
Knickerbocker Group
Portland, ME

Patrick Pinnell, FAIA CNU APA
Architecture & Town Planning, LLC
Higganum, CT

John Priestley, AIA
Owner and Architect
Priestley Architecture
Rockport, ME


New Construction Homes

Additions, Adaptive Re-use, Renovations and Restorations

Accessory Buildings


  • Projects must have been completed in the last 5 years.
  • Submitting architect must be the Architect of Record, practicing in Connecticut and crediting any other contributing architectural firm.
  • Eligible works include one or two-family Connecticut residences, free standing projects, additions, renovations, restorations, adaptive reuse and accessory buildings including but not limited to:
    • Studios
    • Pool Houses
    • Barns
    • Playhouses
    • Pet Shelters
    • Conservatories

Do not include any identifying firm information in your submission. Submissions with identifying information will automatically be disqualified.

Submission Materials:

  • Project name and location
  • 350-word project description that includes:
    • Square footage, site information, and context
    • Brief synopsis of the project and design rationale
    • Identification of structures that may have more than one purpose or may have addressed unique challenges
    • Sustainability features, if any
    • Do not include any firm identification in the description
  • Maximum of 12, minimum of 8 high resolution photos (maximum 10MB per photo) following these guidelines:
    • Minimum of 3 interior photos (accessory buildings only require one interior photo)
    • Exterior photos with at least 1 that includes site context
    • Maximum of 2 "before" photos, if desired
    • Photos should indicate that the house is furnished (permission to show these should be cleared by the Owner prior to submission)
    • All photos must be properly oriented as jurors will not be able to rotate them
    • Do not include firm identification in file names or photos
    • All photography permissions and releases are the responsibility of the submitting architect

Judging Criteria:

The Jurors will take into consideration and acknowledge:

  • Excellence in traditional house design and attention to detail.
  • Thoughtful adaptation of traditional style(s) to address 21st-century needs.
  • Sustainability features

Styles may include, but are not limited to:

  • Shingle Style
  • Georgian
  • Queen Anne
  • Gothic
  • Colonial
  • Greek Revival

AIA Connecticut Member: $100.00
Member of another Chapter: $200.00
Other Registered Architect: $400.00

Registration opens on February 6
Registration deadline: February 27

Submission deadline: March 31

2022 Winners!